Longlists announced for the CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals 2013

5th November – Carnegie Longlist

The longlists for two of the most prestigious prizes in writing and illustrating for children were announced on 5th November. Awarded annually by CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals, the CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded by children’s librarians for an outstanding book for children and young people, while the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded by children’s librarians for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people.

The longlist for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2013 includes Anne Fine, who would be the first ever author to win the CILIP Carnegie Medal three times if Trouble in Toadpool triumphs. She is joined on the longlist by previous winners Melvin Burgess, Frank Cottrell Boyce, David Almond, Philip Reeve, Theresa Breslin, Kevin Crossley-Holland, Robert Swindells and Aidan Chambers who, if they win again, will join a seven-strong group of authors have been awarded the Medal twice – including last year’s winner, Patrick Ness. The 2013 longlist also includes a rare double nomination – for Sally Gardner’s Maggot Moon and The Double Shadow. Winners of the CILIP Carnegie Medal over the past eight decades reads like a who’s who of the best children’s writers in the past century including Meg Rosoff, Neil Gaiman, C.S. Lewis, Philip Pullman and Geraldine McCaughrean. (taken from the awards website)

There is some exciting reading on this longlist.  I can thoroughly recommend “Wonder” by R. J. Palacio and “15 Days without a Head” by Dave Cousins.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *