Books & Reading News

Here are this year’s Yoto Carnegie Winners 2023











The Costa Book Prize category winners were announced on 6th January 2020

Why not browse the titles and borrow one from the Library? The Costa Book of the Year will be announced on 28th January 2020.

For details of books published later this year have a look at this ‘Literary Calendar – 2020 a year in books’




The Women’s Prize Longlist 2018 has been announced – How many will you read before the shortlist is announced on 23rd April?

Here’s the Women’s Prize for Fiction Shortlist 2017 and the winner The Power by Naomi Alderman

Wednesday 8th June saw the announcement of the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2016 winner. The prize, formerly known as the Orange Prize for Fiction, was founded in 1996 and celebrates

‘excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women throughout the world’. It was won by Lisa McInerney with her debut novel Glorious Heresies. The chair of the judges described it as “a superbly original, compassionate novel that delivers insights into the very darkest of lives through humour and skilful storytelling. A fresh new voice and a wonderful winner.” The six shortlisted books are available in the Library – I have much reading to catch up on!

The young adult novel – The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge has won the Costa Book of the Year 2015. More information here


Costa First Novel Award: Andrew Michael Hurley – The Loney (John Murray)

Costa Novel Award: Kate Atkinson – A God in Ruins (Doubleday)

Costa Biography Award: Andrea Wulf – The Invention of Nature (John Murray)

Costa Poetry Award: Don Paterson – 40 Sonnets (Faber)

Costa Children’s Book Award: Frances Hardinge – The Lie Tree (Macmillan Children’s Books)





The 2015 Carnegie Medal is here! Read the 8 shortlisted books and you decide which is the best. The judging criteria consider – plot, style and characterisation.





The Folio Prize winner was announced on 10th March 2014

BBC News:  American writer George Saunders has won the inaugural Folio Prize for his “darkly playful” short story collection, “Tenth of December”

The Women’s Prize for Fiction(formerly the Orange Prize) announced it’s longlist for 2014 on 7th March. The shortlist  of 6 books will be announced on 7th April.



Carnegie Children’s Book Award

This year rather than just nominations followed by a shortlist in March a longlist has been introduced.

Have a look at the longlist and read some of the great books (available in the library)I particularly liked ‘Heroic by Phil Earle’. It’s a moving book about friendship, loyalty and young soldiers dealing with war and their struggles to cope back in the UK.




This year’s longlist for the Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books was announced on 1st June.

Shortlist will be announced in September 2013. Winner will be announced on 25 November 2013

Women’s Prize for Fiction Shortlist 2013 was announced on 16th April 2013.

Branford Boase Book Award 2013

This book award is for a first time author of a book for young people  published in the last year. Have a look at the exciting shortlist

Nov 2012 Librarian Adam Lancaster blog post “Why do boys love non-fiction?”

Try these book recommendation sites


The 2013 Award longlist  was announced on 5th November. View it here

CILIP Carnegie Children’s Book Awards


2012 Award

Shortlisted books

This is an annual award for an outstanding children’s book published in English. It was established in 1936 in honour of Andrew Carnegie, the Scottish- born philanthropist. Carnegie set up more than 2800 libraries across the English speaking world.  Librarians across the UK nominate books for the prize and the short list of 8 books was announced on 27th March this year.

Once the shortlisting has taken place this is when young people get involved. Groups in schools and public libraries “Shadow” the scheme and vote for their favourites.

We are looking forward to starting a Shadowing Book Club  in the 3rd form in the Summer Term. The exciting process will get us talking about books and assessing their merits in relation to specific criteria. It will culminate in an-Oscar style prize ceremony on June 14th when the winner is announced.

Shadowing Site – groups have their own pages and can write reviews and upload photos.

Take a look at the beautiful  Living Archive which shows you past winners.


Summary of recently published report What Kids are Reading 2012

Waterstones Childrens’ Book Prize Shortlist was announced on 8th Feb



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *